1919 · Germany · postcard

Karl (1)

A message from 1919

I won a lot with old postcards at an auction, pre-World War II, about 155 of them. Most of them unused, but some of the cards traveled, some almost a century ago. The ones not used I intend to use for Postcrossing, giving life to long forgotten treasures.
This card was used and part of the lot I won; posted in Germany in 1919, sent to Karl Merkle by his friend Theo. The card was posted in Reichenbach (there are 4 places with that name in Germany, not sure which one it is).

First postcard sent to Karl Merkle, likely in 1919
First postcard sent to Karl Merkle, likely in 1919; 21 men can be seen in what seems a school

Theo sounds really desperate to get into contact with Karl again. Karl must have gone through some change it seems – fascinating to read and I love the handwriting.

First postcard to Karl Merkle who lived in Mahlspüren, Stockach, stamp of Deutches Reich, posted in Reichenbach
First postcard to Karl Merkle in Mahlspüren, Stockach close to Lake Constance

The card says:

“Dear Karl. Since I still haven’t heard anything from you, I thought I start writing to you. So, how are you? Did you already get used to your new life, and do you understand the local dialect? Perhaps things have been tough for you. Well it’s OK. Should you write to me, do it in great detail, I prefer a letter over a postcard. How much time will you still find for me? Hear from you soon. Hoping to get an answer, with greetings, your Theo.”

I wonder if Karl and/or Theo are on the picture (it is a photograph) – for sure all men are gone by now. The green stamp of Deutsches Reich was issued in 1919 by the way.

Really curious if anyone has reactions. Karl lived in Mahlspüren im Tal, Stockach, when he received the card, in southern Germany, just after World War I, a place at the Bodensee also known as Lake Constance.

I am pretty sure Karl must be visible on this card – he is a school administrator (“Schulverwalter”) and seems like a school class or something, perhaps all the teachers or during the education to become one?

I am determined to find out who this Karl was. To be continued.

One thought on “Karl (1)

Leave a comment